What an A-M-A-Z-I-N-G week!  Higher temperatures, sun shining everyday, birds chirping their happy song, leaves changing to bright colors….Which is why it makes it that much harder to have this as a “down week “for exercising-and a forced down week at that!  All thanks to Phil, who (inconveniently I might add) decided to make a re-appearance after a 6-month hiatus.  For those of you that don’t know, Phil is my ex who keeps coming around every now and again and can’t seem to take the hint to disappear and to stay out of my life.  Did I mention that Phil is also my achilles?

Meet Phil

Meet Phil

Literally speaking, that is.  I spent so much time last year rehabing my injured achilles that I decided to personalize him and give it a name.  After all, it is so much easier to curse at something with a name! But I will give Phil some credit where it is deserved:  he does keep me on my toes (no pun intended) by reminding me of the various things that keeps him at bay-especially biweekly strength work activities and calf raises/dips.    The moment I stop doing such activities-boom-there he is knocking on my door begging to come in.

Instead of dwelling on the fact that I cannot be out cycling or running in this gorgeous weather (although I must admit to giving the occasional nasty stare when I pass a runner or cyclist who looks too darn happy), I am trying to do the next best thing and enjoy the outdoors in different ways.  Take today for instance.  I started off by going for a walk on one of my favourite city trails and enjoyed a peaceful meditation session by the river.

meditating by the river

Meditation Spot

I later brought my laptop outside to my serene little backyard and enjoyed a productive afternoon (the only downfall is that the squirrels kept throwing the hazelnuts at me-and trust me, those spiky things hurt!).

Quaint little backyard

Quaint little backyard

hazelnut

Watch out!

Afterwards, I picked up my kids from school and took them on a hike before supper (I had to bribe them with a lollipop, but hey-no judging please!)

Hike with kiddies

Hike with kiddies

All in all, I must say that I am doing a good job at being patient with Phil and not letting him annoy me too much.  In fact, I am surprised with my calmness towards not engaging in a tough workout for several days.   Perhaps it is because I am using the time normally dedicated to exercising for other things-such as checking off items on my list of to-do’s, experimenting with cooking and making good progress on the book I’m writing.  Or perhaps it has something to do with the timing of it all.  Maybe this IS the right time to slow it down and to give both my mind and body a break-especially after a rewarding season of hard training and racing.  Maybe this is what Phil is trying to tell me?

Enough about Phil! Excuse me while I go and do some core strength; all this talking about not being able to exercise has got me restless (Hey-what can I say? I’m an athlete!).

